2020 National Fish & Chip Award winners and finalists

The National Fish and Chip Awards celebrate the best of the fish and chip industry in the UK. These are the 2020 champions and finalists.

Hosted by Mark Sargeant and attended by over 600 guests, the awards ceremony for the 2020 National Fish & Chip Awards took place on Thursday 23 January at the Royal Lancaster Hotel in London.

Fish and Chip Shop of the Year Award

To see all of the winners and finalists from the awards, download the winners and finalists brochure.

Nominees and shortlisted businesses are appraised in each of the key areas that highlight best practice against a range of criteria in the entry process - with mystery dining judges attending the shops to assess a number of factors including responsible sourcing practices, customer service, staff training policies and the overall quality of the fish and chips on offer. You can find out more by reading the frequently asked questions

Previous National Fish and Chip Awards champions

  • 2019 National winner: Krispies, Exmouth, Devon
  • 2018 National winner: Millers Fish and Chips, Haxby, Yorkshire
  • 2017 National winner: Kingfisher Fish & Chips, Plymouth, Devon
  • 2016 National winner: Simpsons Fish & Chips, Cheltenham Gloucestershire
  • 2015 National winner: Frankie's Fish & Chips, Brae, Shetland
  • 2014 National winner: Quayside, Whitby, North Yorkshire
  • 2013 National winner: The Bay, Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
  • 2012 National winner: Seniors, Thornton, Lancashire
  • 2011 National winner: Fish and Chips at 149, Bridlington, East Yorkshire
  • 2009-2010 National winner: Atlantic Fast Food, Coatbridge, Lanarkshire
  • 2008 National winner: Anstruther Fish Bar, Anstruther, Fife
  • 2007 National winner: Townhead Cafe, Biggar, Lanarkshire
  • 2006 National winner: Petrou Brothers, Chatteris, Cambridgeshire
  • 2005 National winner: Hodgson's Chippy, Lancaster, Lancashire
  • 2004 National winner: Our Plaice, West Hagley, West Midlands
  • 2003 National winner: Finnegan's Bar, Bridgend, Cardiff
  • 2002 National winner: Brownsover Fish Bar, Rugby, Warwickshire
  • 2001 National winner: Allports Fish and Chip Shop, Pwllheli, Wales
  • 2000 National winner: Les's Fish Bar, Crewe, Cheshire
  • 1999 National winner: Bizzie Lizzies, Skipton, North Yorkshire
  • 1998 National winner: Zanre's, Peterhead, Aberdeenshire
  • 1997 National winner: The Bervie Chipper, Inverbervie, Aberdeenshire
  • 1996 National winner: Halfway Fish Bar, Poole, Dorset
  • 1995 National winner: Hutchinson's, Helston, Cornwall
  • 1994 National winner: The West End Cafe, Rothesay, Isle of Bute
  • 1993 National winner: Reed Square Fish Bar, Birmingham, West Midlands
  • 1992 National winner: Elite Fish Bar & Restaurant, Ruskington, Lincolnshire


For general enquiries about the National Fish & Chip Awards contact fishandchips@seafish.co.uk


Andy Gray
Trade Marketing Manager
07876 035 767