UK Fisheries Economist Network (UKFEN)

We founded UKFEN in early 2011 in order to promote professional exchange between fisheries economists and analysts.

The United Kingdom Fisheries Economists Network (UKFEN) was established in 2011 to enable economists and social scientists to come together and discuss common areas of work, current and emerging sector challenges, and their recent outputs.

There is no fee for membership, and no obligation to participate in meetings.

Our network aspires to improve the overall capacity in the UK for informing decisions with robust scientific data, analysis, and advice. Annual meetings of this network took place until March 2020, when Covid-19 emerged, and will resume in January 2023.

Minutes and agendas for previous meetings are available on request.

UKFEN Members and contacts

To secure the services of a fisheries economist or analyst or to discuss potential research you can contact members directly. To circulate an invitation to tender for a consulting project to all commercial members of UKFEN contact Economics@Seafish.co.uk 

Seafish members

Arina Motova, Chief Economist
E: Arina.Motova@seafish.co.uk

Ana Witteveen, Economist
E: Ana.Witteveen@seafish.co.uk

Marta Moran Quintana, Economics Analyst
E: Marta.Quintana@seafish.co.uk

Nick Patience, Economics Project Manager
E: Nick.Patience@seafish.co.uk

Joe Cooper, Economics Researcher ‑ Trade analysis
E: Joe.Cooper@seafish.co.uk

Juan Carlos Paredes Esclapez, Economics Researcher
E: JuanCarlosParedes.Esclapez@seafish.co.uk

Other members

All members are listed below in alphabetical order by first name. 

A

Alan Radford
E: radfordalan@sky.com

Alastair Johnston, The Department for Environment, Farming and Rural Affairs (Defra)
E: alastair.johnson@defra.gov.uk  

Amy McQueen, Marine Scotland
E: Amy.McQueen@gov.scot

Andrew Johnson, Marfisheco Fisheries Consultants
E: Andrew@marfisheco.com

Angela Muench, Centre for Environment, Fisheries and Aquaculture Science (CEFAS)
E: angela.muench@cefas.co.uk

Annabel Arbuthnot, Marine Scotland
E: Annabel.Arbuthnot@gov.scot

Annabelle Ray, The Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra)
E: annabelle.ray@defra.gov.uk 

Annemari Maegi, Marine Scotland
E: Annemari.Maegi@gov.scot

Aurelia Samuel, Agri-Food and Biosciences Institute (AFBI)
E: Aurelia.Samuel@afbini.gov.uk

Ayesha Toolan, The Department for Environment, Farming and Rural Affairs (Defra)
E: Ayesha.Toolan@defra.gov.uk 

C

Chahat Sekhon, Marine Scotland
E: Chahat.Sekhon@gov.scot

Charlotte Tindall
E: mail@charlottetindall.co.uk

Coby Needle, Marine Scotland
E: coby.needle@gov.scot 

Crick Carleton, Nautilus Consultants, Senior Consultant
E: crick@nautilus-consultants.co.uk

D

Dan Edwards, Joint Nature Conservation Committee (JNCC)
E: Dan.Edwards@jncc.gov.uk

Diane Burgess, Agri-Food and Bioscience Institute (AFBI)
E: Diane.Burgess@afbini.gov.uk 

E

Edward Hind-Ozan, The Department for Environment, Farming and Rural Affairs (Defra)
E: Edward.Hind-Ozan@defra.gsi.gov.uk

Elizabeth Bourke, National Federation of Fishermen's Organisations (NFFO)
E: ebourke@nffo.org.uk 

F

Fiona Nimmo, Poseidon Consultants
E: fiona@consult-poseidon.com

Frances James, MacAllister Elliot
E: frances.james@macalister-elliott.com

Francis Murray
E: francismurray65@gmail.com 

Gavin Brown, Marine Scotland
E:
Gavin.Brown@gov.scot

H

Hazel Curtis, Consultant
E: hazelccurtis@gmail.com 

Howard Walker, Bridge Economics
E: howard.walker@bridgeeconomics.co.uk 

I

Ian Payne, MRAG
E: i.payne@mrag.co.uk

J

Jack Parker, The Department for Environment, Farming and Rural Affairs (Defra)
E: jack.parker@defra.gov.uk

Jennifer Russell, Anderson Solutions
E: jennifer@andersonsolutions.co.uk

Jim Watson, Scottish Government
E: Jim.Watson@gov.scot

Jimmy Young, Stirling University
E:j.a.young@stir.ac.uk

John Hambrey, Hambrey Consulting
E: john@hambreyconsulting.co.uk

Jon Holden
E: jon.holden94@gmail.com

Jose A. Fernandes, Plymouth Marine Laboratory
E: jfs@pml.ac.uk

K

Kay Barclay, Marine Scotland
E: Kay.Barclay@gov.scot

Kieran Hyder, Centre for Environment, Fisheries and Aquaculture Science (CEFAS)
E: Kieran.hyder@cefas.co.uk

Kyla Orr, Consultant
E: marineconsulting@kylaorr.com

L

Liam Campling, Queen Mary University of London
E: l.campling@qmul.ac.uk

M

Martin Esseen, Consultant
E: martin.esseen@gmail.com

Matt Elliott, Marine Management Organisation (MMO)
E: matt.elliott@marinemanagement.org.uk

N

Natasha Goodman, The Department for Environment, Farming and Rural Affairs (Defra)
E: natasha.goodman@defra.gov.uk  

Nathan de Rozarieux, Tegen Mor Consultants
E: nathan@tegen-mor.co.uk

O

Olivier Thebaud, Ifremer
E: Olivier.Thebaud@ifremer.fr

P

Patrick Franklin, Homarus Aquafish
E: patrick.franklin@homarusaquafish.co.uk

Paul Dolder, Centre for Environment, Fisheries and Aquaculture Science (CEFAS)
E: paul.dolder@cefas.co.uk

Paul Harvey, The Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra)
E:
paul.harvey1@defra.gov.uk

Peter van der Meulen, Marine Scotland
E: peter.vandermeulen@gov.scot 

Philip Rodgers, Erinshore Economics
E: phil@erinecon.com

R

Rachel Turner, Exeter University
E: R.Turner@exeter.ac.uk

Rebecca Mitchell
E: Rebecca.e.mitchell@outlook.com

Robin Smale, Vivid Economics
E: robin.smale@vivideconomics.com

Rod Cappell, Poseidon Aquatic Resource Management
E: rod@consult-poseidon.com

Rupert Haines, ICF International
E: Rupert.Haines@icfi.com

Ruth Pincinato, University of Stavanger
E: ruth.b.pincinato@uis.no

S

Sam Corio, The Department for Environment, Farming and Rural Affairs (Defra)
E: Sam.Corio@defra.gov.uk

Sam Minnitt, The Department for Environment, Farming and Rural Affairs (Defra)
E: Sam.Minnitt@defra.gsi.gov.uk

Sébastien Metz, Sakana Consultants
E: s_metz@sakana-consultants.com

Simon Mardle, Consultant
E: simon.mardle.t21@btinternet.com

Sophie Des Clers
E: sdesclers@gmail.com

Stephen Mangi, MRAG
E: s.mangi.chai@mrag.co.uk

Stephen Thompson, Eastern Inshore Fisheries Conservation Authority (IFCA)
E:stephenthompson@eastern-ifca.gov.uk

Suzannah Walmsley, ABPMer
E: swalmsley@abpmer.co.uk

T

Tom Bradbury, The Department for Environment, Farming and Rural Affairs (Defra)
E: Tom.Bradbury@defra.gov.uk

Tom Peatman
E: tom.peatman@gmail.com

Tristan Southall
E: tristan@tdsouthall.co.uk

Trond Bjorndal, SNF
E: Trond.Bjorndal@snf.no

Tsvetina Yordanova
E: tsveti.yordanova@gmail.com

V. Hugo Martinez Ballesteros, University of Santiago de Compostela
E: victorhugo.martinez@usc.es