Seafood Regulation Expert Group

The Seafood Regulation Expert Group (SREG) is made up of industry representatives and experts. Group members identify major developments in food and related legislation which may affect the UK seafood industry.

The Group reports on significant issues and developments to the industry and to Seafish, as well as responding to the government on behalf of the industry. The Seafood Regulation Expert Group provides:

  • A forum for the evaluation of issues and industry priorities
  • Expert industry advice for government departments and agencies
  • Support to Seafish's regulation team

The Group also provides expertise and advice within the framework of the Government's Regulation Delivery Team expert panels. These expert panels provide clarification and consultation on matters of technical interpretation and practical enforcement.

The group's scope includes all legislation which impinges on the handling, processing and marketing of seafood, and group members are to communicate details of group activities as widely as possible throughout the industry.

The Seafood Regulation Expert Group meets every four months, though working groups that are dealing with specific issues may meet whenever necessary. The group's secretariat is provided by Seafish.

Chair: Fiona Wright

Secretary: Hannah Thompson

Director Responsible: Operations Director

Find out when the next meeting of the Seafood Regulation Expert Group is, HERE...


  • Jimmy Buchan, of the Scottish Seafood Association
  • Martyn Boyers, of the British Ports Association Fishing Ports Working Group
  • Lesley Fairhurst, of Waitrose
  • Martin Forsyth, of the British Frozen Food Federation
  • Gary Gould, of the Association of Port Health Authorities (APHA)
  • Roger Mason, of the Marine Management Organisation (MMO)
  • Gordon Hart, of Marine Scotland
  • Jennifer Howie, of Food Standards Scotland
  • Dave Jarrad, of the Shellfish Association of Great Britain
  • Billijo Jones, of West Yorkshire Trading Standards
  • Chris Leftwich, consultant
  • Joanna Messini, of the Department  for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (DEFRA)
  • Gordon Maddan, of the Office for Product Safety & Standards (OPS&S)
  • Hugh Mantle, of the National Federation of Fish Friers
  • Doug McLeod, of the British Trout Association
  • Malcolm Morrison, of the Scottish Fishermen's Association
  • Chris Melville, of Seafood Grimsby and Humber/Grimsby Fish Merchant Association
  • Dale Rodmell, of the National Federation of Fishermen's Organisations
  • Richard Annett, of the Foods Standards Agency Northern Ireland
  • Mike Short, of the UK Seafood Industry Alliance
  • Tim Silverthorne, of the National Federation of Fishmongers
  • Jill Wilson, of the Food Standards Agency
  • Martin Flanigan, of the Aquaculture Initiative (EEIG)
  • Laky Zervudachi, of Direct Seafoods UK

Seafood Regulation Expert Group minutes:




Previous minutes: